Great Falls College MSU COVID-19 Frequently Asked Questions

Date: Tue, Oct 23rd, 2018

New Seamless OneMSU initiative streamlines transfer process

“The Seamless OneMSU initiative focuses on eliminating barriers and fostering student success.”

GREAT FALLS—Students attending Montana State University campuses in Bozeman, Billings, Great Falls and Havre will now have an easier time enrolling and transferring credits between campuses on their path to certificate and degree completion.

Student success and the quickest path to completion does not always run through one campus. Working together, the four MSU campuses have streamlined the transfer process for students. This means students pursuing a certificate or degree at Great Falls College can now take classes from MSU Bozeman, Billings or Northern more easily.

"In the past, transferring across institutions has been a several week, multiple form processes but this initiative simplifies the process and enables students to take the classes they need," said Dr. Susan J. Wolff, CEO and Dean at Great Falls College MSU.

The MSU campuses have worked to provide a single webpage with consistent information that features course offerings and information at each institution.

"This initiative gives students the opportunity to have access to classes they may not otherwise have access to. If the student is here in Great Falls but sees a class at Northern or in Billings or Bozeman they want to take, they can now do that and bring those credits back to their home college or university," said Dr. Heidi Pasek, Chief Academic Officer at Great Falls College MSU.

Applying, enrolling, registering and transferring between campuses has been challenging and sometimes difficult to overcome.

"The Seamless OneMSU initiative focuses on eliminating barriers and fostering student success," Wolff said.

To start the process, students should visit:

Seamless OneMSU builds on a long commitment by the Montana Board of Regents and the Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education to facilitate student transfers, a commitment that has included common course numbering among the state's campuses and ensures credits transfer between institutions.

Montana University System students normally do not pay for course credits beyond their first 12 per semester, but that is only applicable to each campus. If a student enrolls in multiple MSU campuses, they will receive a bill from each campus and may not aggregate their multi-campus credits to reach the 12-credit threshold.

For more information about the Seamless OneMSU initiative, contact:

Lewis Card
Executive Director—Development Communications and Marketing
Phone: (406) 771-4412

⇦ Back to list page
Record Number: 604